Being Boom. A Photographic Experience.

Taken by Magali at Boom (2012)

Taken by Magali at Boom (2012)

 

WOW. It’s an exhibition that reminds me of the first time that I flicked through thousands of photos in the Boom Festival archives. A good selection of them were taken by photographers who will present some of their finest works at Camden’s Inspiral Lounge this month at the exhibition, ‘The Alchemy of Spirit.’ 
It’s not a privilege I take lightly. Neither is it an experience so easy to describe. But in a nut-shell, as I skimmed through those photographs back in 2010 – I encountered a spell of ‘involuntary facial contortion’, dictated by various expressions of total awe and amazement reflected by the scenes on the screen in front of me: happy, cosy, loved up, blissed out, curious, reflective, pensive, partied up, partied out, excited, inspired, elated, overwhelmed, intense, immense and more.  
Taken by Jakob Kolar at the Healing Area, Boom Festival (2010)

Taken by Jakob Kolar at the Healing Area, Boom Festival (2010)

It was certainly the beginning of new pathways for me. Unpredictable, for sure; and as cliched as it sounds, cosmic without a doubt, particularly for opening up the infinite sea of possibilities at our disposal and our power for reaching them as long as we know what we are looking for – while on the flip-side, so fucking karmic baby!

Did I tap into the ‘infinite’ and connect with the ‘Shiva & Shakti’ energies within and learn to struggle less with the 3-dimensional world in which we love? To various extents, yep I believe so I did, so for this, and for much more of course, I am thankful. 

Taken by Jakob Kolar at the Dance Temple, Boom (2012)

Taken by Jakob Kolar at the Dance Temple, Boom (2012)

The Boom Media Team is full of some funny, intelligent characters and João Curiti has got to be one of my favourite photographers with whom I had the honour of working. Never in one place for too long, this man really loves to run and fly with the camera, capturing atmospheric environments and the ambience ‘created by the tribes that come to Boom.’ I spoke to him during a Skype call recently while he reflected on the moment he captured one of his most publicised masterpieces and his experience as a photographer at the Boom. 

Taken by João Curiti, at Boom Festival (2008)

Taken by João Curiti, at Boom Festival (2008)

That Photographic Moment: Referring to the infamous photograph of the Sacred Fire (above), João tells me: “I think this photo make a voyage of the world! And yes, I remember that special moment when I took this picture…  It was taken right at the end of the festival. A Portuguese world-music band called Terrakota was playing, but the photo was taken at the finish of the concert and when the big lights open. This was in 2008, also the same year that I met you!’ 

“If I could give this photo a name, I would call it ‘Tribes of Boom.’ It was nice to capture this moment because the people are like a tribe, so many of them around the fire.”

Taken by Pierre Ekman at the Dance Temple, Boom Festival (2012)

Taken by Pierre Ekman at the Dance Temple, Boom Festival (2012)

The Boom Photographic Experience: “I think every photographer sees different things because Boom is different to every person. It’s special because you see beautiful things all over the place… I don’t know… It’s a unique experience, you know?

“I have shooted in so many festivals, in fact I am an old school guy from the dance club scene, but Boom I think is one of the best, if not the best experience for a photographer. It seduced me because of the people, the place, the soundsystem; it seduced me even though it’s not entirely my kind of music.”

Taken by Murilo Ganesh at Boom (2012)

Taken by Murilo Ganesh at Boom (2012)

Special Boom Moment: “I remember one time was special when I wanted to shoot these two guys. I look at them and we communicate without speaking, like a telepathy, a silent language…They look back at me, and it’s like they gave me mental permission to take the shot and that for me was very nice.  And I need this kind of contact, otherwise I don’t take the picture. And this kind of communication happens many times at Boom, it’s amazing. Because the magic, it happens in Boom… You know? It’s really true…”

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

